“My” Ubuntu/Debian kernel 3.8.0-0-exton (3.8-rc3)

Today (130111) I have compiled yet another Ubuntu kernel for 64bit systems. This time kernel 3.8.0-0-exton, equivalent to Kernel.org’s latest kernel 3.8-rc3, released yesterday (130110).

Install kernel 3.8.0-0-exton in Ubuntu/Debian based distributions

My self-compiled Ubuntu kernels can be used in all types of Ubuntu systems, incl.  Mint. They can even be used in Debian Wheezy (upcoming Debian 7) and Debian Squeeze (Debian 6). If you want to use my kernel 3.8.0-0-exton for 64bit systems, you can download it from HERE. Install as described on my international blog below. (Change the filenames of course). Advantages of the newer kernel: Many, if you have newer hardware, etc. I myself seem to notice that the system runs faster, both from the disc and from the hard drive. This is noticeable especially during startup and shutdown. (In any case, on my computers).

2 thoughts on ““My” Ubuntu/Debian kernel 3.8.0-0-exton (3.8-rc3)

Leave a Reply

